THE DESIGN REVOLUTION by William Dembski

by JF

Having read nearly all the books of Phillip Johnson, and many books by other leading intellectuals of the Intelligent Design Movement, as well as having read many books by writers espousing Creation Science, I am thus an avid reader of such literature. I suppose “non-reading” types might even call me a “voracious” reader of such stuff. Therefore, when I first learned of the name William Dembski, and saw that he was yet another leader of the Intelligent Design Movement, one that I had not previously heard of, I was eager to dive into his writings. Well, I dived, and uh, well, it was basically like trudging through a swamp of molasses.
Strange to say, here was a book about a subject that I enjoy reading a lot about, a subject in which I am probably rather knowledgable for a person who is not a trained biologist or scientist or philosopher, and yet, it was difficult for me to get through this book. I finally did, chipping away at it here and there, rather than ever being engrossed by it the way most of the other books on this topics have engrossed me. I never did enjoy reading this book.
The problem is, William Dembski is a very different writer from Phillip Johnson, or Michael Denton, or Jonathan Wells, or Scott Huse, or Kent Hovind, or Walt Brown, or Duane Gish, etc. Dembski is a scientist with a strong mathematical penchant. He writes like a math scientist. It makes for boring reading. It just does. Whereas Phillip Johnson, who like Dembski is also extremely intellectual, has a gift for toning down his erudition to reach the layperson, for using figurative language as well as ruthless logic, Dembski has none of that. Dembski writes more like Michael Behe, whom I have also read (and likewise not thoroughly enjoyed); although Dembski writes in an even more highbrow fashion than Behe.
This is not to say that Dembski’s arguments are not compelling; they are. What I could understand of them, at least. Oh, I suppose I could have understood more, but this book just bored the hell out of me. Each chapter is broken up like individual essays expounding upon certain questions that have been raised about Intelligent Design–questions entirely or mostly from skeptical materialist-Darwinist scientists. Dembski answers them compellingly, but really, only another scientist with a lot of research time on his hands is going to be able to slog through much of this kind of writing.
I appreciate the arguments here; I agree with Dembski that we were created by an Intelligent Designer. I just don’t want to ever have to read another book by him.
Of course, we can’t talk about the Intelligent Design Movement without talking again about its inherent flaw, the flaw which even its founder, Phillip Johnson, didn’t seem to appreciate enough, and that is this: When you try to give answers to the question of our ultimate origin, and you are trying to explain those answers to men and women in their natural, sinful, unregenerated state, they are never ever ever going to be led toward the one true God who created us all, because mankind in his natural state is in rebellion with that God. Natural, fallen, unregenerate men and women need to be reborn in Jesus Christ before they can ever even begin to appreciate, as well as be accepted by, the one true Creator who created them. Thus, no matter how much Intelligent Design may or may not change the philosophy (and I do mean PHILOSOPHY) of biological science, it will never ever ever lead to the one true Intelligent Designer. Instead, you will have, as we already see, an increasing number of people, both layperson and scientist, abandoning Darwinism and embracing such postponing philosophies of futility such as “Pan-spermaia’; also, it needs to be said that there is another inherent critical danger to be found with the Intelligent Design Movement, and that is the fact that The Woman That Rides the Beast of the Book of Revelation, a.k.a. Rome, is going to also climb aboard Intelligent Design and ride that sucker for all it’s worth–indeed, you can already see that on the dustjacket of this very book by Dembski, for among those who give prominent endorsements of this book is none other than Knight of Malta, Trojan Horser, Rick Santorum himself.
So much for the best laid plans of even the smartest and most well intentioned of men. Didn’t King Solomon write something about this somewhere? I seem to remember something…

Rating: Δ Δ Δ
2/2012

